Back to Blogging

It’s been over 2 years since my last blog post….2 years…. That’s quite a break from blogging and I’m not sure why my motivation disappeared. I could use the excuse of not having enough time between work (I’m now in my third year as an elementary Vice-Principal) and spending time with my family (I’m a married father of two daughters….with 2 guinea pigs…and a new puppy). However, as I sit in the waiting room of my daughters’ dance studio on a Saturday afternoon glued to my phone, I realise that I do have time. I’m just not using my time very effectively.

After reading some of my earliest posts from 6 years ago, I’m finding that most of my motivation for blogging was more about writing about topics that other people would find interesting. I would spend days thinking about a topic and countless hours rewriting and editing until I thought my post was good enough for people to read but maybe I need to rethink my purpose for blogging and how I blog. Instead of blogging for others maybe I need to be a little selfish with my blog. So after a 2 year hiatus, I’m going to attempt to reignite the spark that I used to have for blogging. I have changed the URL for my blog from rothinks.wordpress.com to roflections.com and I will endeavour to make time to blog but I will keep it short and simple and most importantly meaningful for me.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Back to Blogging

  1. I am guilty of the same thing – writing with an audience in mind, and not as a personal reflection. I also took some time off from blogging (only 1 year though, not 2), but this year my goal is to try to blog about once a week. Welcome back!

  2. Like! I often think back to when you had a desk at the back of
    my classroom. I definitely am looking forward to reading more!

  3. So very happy to have you back to blogging! Excited to read your reflections and hopefully see some good questions too. I know that your questions on your last blog used to get me thinking a lot as well.

    Aviva

Leave a comment